Contact us

The cathedral parish Who’s Who  can be downloaded as a pdf.

Revd Siphokazi Njokweni, Revd Canon Dr Claire Nye Hunter, Dean Andrew Hunter, Sub-Dean Mzi Dyantyi, Revd Luthando Madiba

The Dean of Grahamstown

The  Dean of Grahamstown is the Very Reverend Andrew Hunter who can be contacted during office hours at 046 622 2445 and by email at

The Venerable Mzinzisi Dyantyi
073 604 5232

Senior Assistant Priest
The Reverend Dr Claire Nye Hunter
046 622 2445 (Parish Office) 046 622 3976 (Deanery) 076 799 2485 (Cell)

Assistant Priests (self supporting, part time)
The Reverend Monwabisi Peter (Chaplain, St Andrew’s Preparatory School)
082 517 9556

The Reverend Percy Chinganga (College of the Transfiguration)
083 713 1547

The Reverend Luthando Madiba (Media Officer, Diocese of Grahamstown)
072 514 3592

The Reverend Idowu Akinloye

Deacons (self supporting, part time)
The Reverend Siphokazi Njokweni
083 396 0326

The Reverend Lunga Dongwana
046 622 5801

Cathedral Artists in Residence

Chris Mann and Julia Skeen

The Parish Council has honoured poet Chris Mann and his artist wife Julia Skeen, by designating them as “Honorary Artists in Residence, Cathedral of St Michael & St George, Grahamstown”.

The Grahamstown Cathedral (GPS S33° 18′ 36″ E026° 31′ 36″) is at the eastern end of High Street and can’t be missed.

The Grahamstown Cathedral Office is half-way down High Street at

St Michael’s Wing (on the right of the building, down the lane)

St George’s Chambers, 108 High Street
Grahamstown, 6139
Eastern Cape
South Africa
Postal address: P O Box 102, Grahamstown, 6140.




Lou-Anne Liebenberg

Parish Office Staff
Parish Administrator: Ms Lou-Anne Liebenberg
046 622 2445;


Lou-Anne’s office hours are from 08:00 to 15:30. The office is closed for lunch from 13:00-14:00.


Director of Music Vacant
Mr Cameron Luke has been appointed, and will be arriving later this year.

Meanwhile, please contact the Choir Intern, Mr Kutlwano Kepadisa
078 869 0880

Mr Asakhe Cuntsulana
078 749 7757

Head Sacristan
Ms June Venn
073 217 8262

Altar Servers
Mrs Sally Terry
046 622 4470

Silulami Mize – known as ‘Sly’

Mr Silulami Mize

Bell Ringing Master
Ms Catherine Letcher
073 613 9114

Mrs Maggy Clarke
046 622 7803

Children’s Church
The Revd Lunga Dongwana
072 125 7964.